"Over the past year, our latenight

news program has devoted increased time to national

news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the

complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather

and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our latenight

news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to

attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,

we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The author of the above argument contends that there should be an expansion in their coverage of weather and local news on their late night news program in order to increase viewership and local advertisement’s revenue as well. The argument put forth by the author seems coherent at first glance; upon scrutiny, however, the argument extended appears seriously flawed and based on several questionable premises and assumptions.

The most glaring error in the author's line of reasoning is that in order to attract more viewers to their programs, they should expand their weather and local news coverage. Whereas, there is not a single point mentioned which can justify that declined viewership is due to less coverage to weather and local news. Also, the author has not revealed the content of the complaints that whether the complaints are against or for the concerned news programs. In light of these fallacies, the claim seems to be resting on questionable grounds.

Besides, the complaints of the viewers there might be the serious problem in the format of the presentation of weather and local news programs which lead to the non-acceptance of the program and hence resulted in low TRP's. Also, the information forecasted on the program might be wrong on the ground of factual reasoning and moral ethics. This, if true, invalidates the entire argument. The argument certainly lacks legitimate evidential support and seems to have been formed out of thin air.

In addition, the author did not mentioned the actual reason of the cancellation of their advertising contracts with local businesses. There might be any kind of personal disputes in between them. Since there is no viewership on the late night weather and local news programs, the local businesses might have withdrawn their investment on them. We just do not know. The author has failed to determine the actual reasons behind the declining viewership as well as the advertising revenues on their late night programs.

Evidently, the speaker has not thought things through. He should have sought some credible reports and online surveys, instead of relying on those mere observations, to ascertain the gravity of the problem. He should have carefully examined other reasons that could well be responsible for the decline in the viewership of the late night programs. Any conclusion based on irrelevant and insufficient data fails to convince the readers. Therefore, the author needs to largely reconstruct his argument, fix the flaws in his logic and provide explication for his assumptions to validate his contention. Without these changes, the speaker argument to expand their coverage on weather and local news with no convincing reason shall remain questionable, extremely ill constructed and thus unconvincing.