"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the given memo the advertising director of the super screen movie production company contends that there is a decrease in viewership of their produced movies inspite of good reviews. The purported reason for this could be the lack of awareness among the viewers about the quality of the movie. To solve this problem the amount of the budget of the upcoming films should increase. The argument seems to be coherent at first glance, but upon scrutiny, it is highly flawed and rife with incomplete data and questionable premises.

The most glaring error in the lining of the argument is that, the author did not gave the information about the sample time duration of the survey on which the recent report has been released. It might have been surveyed on 2 or 3 months, or may be weeks. Thus, by analyzing these monthly or weekly report one cannot conclude and give the results of the whole year. There could be various problems that there was a decrease in viewership; the rates of the movie tickets might be too much high, the movie might be released in only few screens, the promotion of the movie may be not up to the mark, the cast of the movie may be not impressive or popular. Thus, ignoring all these facts, the author assumed that the decrease in viewership is due to low budget and less advertising.

Besides, the author said that there were positive reviews about their movies. By merely saying this one cannot rely on his claim, as everyone knows that production houses bribe the critiques to review good for their movies. There could be a possibility that the reviewers the author is talking about are in good relation with him or he just concluding his claim upon 2 or 3 reviewers only. The author should provide the proper data about the claim, newspaper columns, reputed reviewer's blogs. If he can provide all these proofs then one can still belive his claim that he produce good quality movies.

Moreover, the author assumed that inspite the good reviews, the content os not reaching the prospective viewers. The reviewers , that he is considering may not be so popular in the industry. He also assumed that this can be done only by increasing the budget of the future movies and advertise the movie on a great extent . There could be some another solutions to the problem. For example, they can take a popular actor in their upcoming film which reach their film to greater viewers, a popular actor can do wonders for the film as he is followed by millions of people.

Summing up the discussion, it is pretty clear that the author has only considered som part of the problem. He should explore more ways to optimize the solutio so that budget will also not increase and the movie can reach great number of viewers. Till then the argument is highly flawed and thus, demands a proper re-evaluation.