According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The memo here describes that the advertising director of a super screen movie production company suggests allocating more money in their budget in reaching the public. This is given as last year the total viewers to their company is the least compared to any other years and yet there are many positive reviews. The argument is

flawed and can be evaluated only on answering the given questions.

Is last year's reduction in the number of viewers only due to a lack of awareness? This might be because of the financial condition that year which means people's businesses didn't go very well and so the reduction in number could have happened or the number of good movies might have increased and so number got distributed among all the movies. If any of the above-given examples if true it seriously weakens the author's assumption.

Did the number of positive reviews increased and by what percent did the positive reviews increased? The percent might have increased as fewer people watched and more of them reviewed positively but the total number might still be less than the previous years or the percent increase might be slightest which is very common among businesses year to year. The above examples can change the author's conclusion.

Is allocating more money the only way to reach the public? The changes in the genre of the movies can help as people might have bored with the current ones and wanted a change or putting efforts to analyze the distribution and production flaws might help.

These examples if true makes the author's conclusion fall apart.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions and can only be evaluated if the author answers the above questions and given evide