"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the following argument the business manager of a television station generate a memorandum stating that due to increase in the complaints of the viewers regarding their channel's late night news programs with less coverage of weather and local news. The given argument is full of assumptions and incomplete stastical data which make the argument highly flawed and subjected to a new debate.

The most glaring error in the memorandum is that, the business manager has assumed that viewer's complaints concerning with the station's coverage of weather and local news is solely related to the late-night news programmes. The complaints might be related to the content of the local news presented by the news channel, the content might include various vulgar news or there might be the problem due to showing unnecessary advertisements betwwn the news. Also, the complaints may be related to the auntheticity of the weather reports. Thus, the manager did not provide any explanation about the content of the complaints, he from no where presumed that the complaints regarding weather and local news is related to the late night news program.

Besides, the manager did not provide the sample numbers of the complaints. There might be a single person has complained many times or there might be various people complaining about the single content. He fails to provide the amount of complaints he received because considering only few complaints and taking an action is not a wise decision. All of these fallacies shows the ignorance of the manager and thus, the argument if formed of a thin air.

Also, the manager did not provide the reason that why the ad companies have cancelled their advertising contracts. There could be the numerous reasons for it; the ad companies might not experiencing the good relation with the news station, they might have completed their deal with the news station. The manager just assumed that due to cancellation of these advertising contracts, its reason is due to the increase time to national news. Without any proper analysis the manager decided to restore the time devoted to weather and local news. This shows that the argument is standing on a baseless ground.

Summing up the discussion, the above fallacies in the argument and illogical assumptions clearly indicates the degree of ignorance of the business manager of the news station and hence, the argument is can be said as ill constructed, highly flawed, and subjected to a re-evaluation.