Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the said argument believes that eating paleo diets chronic diseases can be treated and bases his argument on anecdotal evidence. However, such claims seem dubious at best because of the faulty assumptions it relies upon. The assumption that eating habits of ancient human had any correlation with understanding of human physiology is spurious. Further, the lack of any scientific evidence and control study to determine if eating habits of hominids can be useful seem to undermine the conclusion derived by the author.

Ancient man ate food to survive and adapted his eating habits in accordance with the availability of sources of food. As humans evolved, their eating habits developed accordingly. Humans started eating cooked meals instead of the raw food gathered from hunting. The perception that there was a scientific explanation to the kind of food eaten by our ancestors is conceptually flawed.

While it is true that the only motive behind our ancestors' consumption of paleo diets was not solely scientific, the argument is not backed by any scientific study. There is no control group - the one which adheres to the modern food diet, to analyse what components of the paleo diet result in better health of the people who follow it. Is there anything else these individuals do which make them less prone to chronic diseases? Do they live an active lifestyle as compared to other people being referenced here? The argument remains weak unless similar questions are answered.

Further, the "strong anecdotal evidence", as mentioned by the author, claims that people had fewer chronic illnesses than others but fails to quantify the same. One must declare the percentage of people who have benefitted from changing their eating habits so that it can be analysed that such a change is substantive in one leading a healthy lifestyle.

The aforementioned assumptions need to be justified in order to infer that the author's conclusion is suitable and consuming paleo diet would be a new path to a disease-free life, otherwise, such ideas are just a facade to gain attention.