A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The assertion is based on incompetent facts and unwarranted assumptions. It is based on a single test sample activity which was done and does not take into account the other various possibilities which could have led to the infectious samples. There isn't enough evidence that is cited by the argument in order to corroborate the conclusion that it is claiming.

The samples that were tested after the food was recalled were tested only for the chemicals in the food. There could be other factors such as the organic raw materials that are used in the food which caused the signs of illness in the pets. There could have been a decay of the primary material used in the manufacturing of the food. However, there is no justification present in the assertion of having checked for these raw materials.

There could be factors such as the packaging of the food. Maybe the plastic that was used in the food was harmful and not suitable for packaging purposes or if any metal was used for the packaging reacted with the food which led to spoiling it. There could also be an issue of the gas which is used to cover the tins for the longevity of the food item, as a preservative. There have been cases where in the gases used in the packing of products have been harmful after consumption. No such evidence is provided in the argument which tests for these possibilities.

Moreover, the argument does not take into account the factory conditions in which the food has been manufactured. There is no such evidence present in the assertion which accounts for the fact that the hygiene conditions in the factory were also approved by the government. Clean and hygienic production conditions especially when food is being manufactured is very important and the assertion does not account for any investigation of the conditions of the factory of the pet food manufacturing.

Since a large number of pet food was recalled, it is pretty evident that there must have a large number of pets which were experiencing the signs of illness. To just investigate for chemicals and not do a thorough investigation of the food does not fit the charts here. Therefore, the conclusion that the factory should not devote further resources for investigation is incorrect and the pet food manufacturing company has not taken into account all the possibilities which could have led to the infectious food and the assertion is based on a weak assumption which further requires more probation.