Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

School kids in most school curriculum today, have a subject in their middle school named "Moral science". Right from the incipient stage, when we are introduced to the world of knowledge, we grow up learning didactic stories and are taught to always follow the path of righteousness.

It is very important that in the building up years of a child, he is introduced to the idea of what is 'moral'. To be able to discern and make a good judgement about what is wrong ethically is a highly essential quality and children should be taught about it. Ethics forms the conscience of a person and are important in order to make a correct choice at many stages of life. There are so many cases of corruption that we hear in today's world. While it is true that a person might do what he has to and is influenced by other factors, it definitely makes a difference if he/she is taught the difference between right and wrong all along when he is growing up.

People who base their lives on integrity lead a life that allows them to 'do the right thing' even under pressure situations. We all have heard of Florence Nightingale who served in the World War- II as a nurse to the impaired soldiers in the war. It was only because she was empathetic towards them and could feel their pain because of the values and ethics that she was comprised of.

Logical reasoning is important to be taught to children as well. To be able to make a good judgement based on rationale is what is important in today's world.It allows the children to be able to differentiate or rather draw a line as to when to stop believing something that is not doing any good and put an end to it.

Moreover, it allows putting an end to the stigmas in the society and the superstitions and malpractices that have been a part of a society.There are various examples such as, the 'Sati Pratha', a traditional Hindu tradition followed in India wherein the wife of a man, needs to be burnt with him on the pyre if he has passed away. Such practices followed in the earlier times did not have any logic to them and rather were more traditional and religious in approach. It was important to put an end to such practices which happened and could only happen because people were taught to have a clear judgement on what is right and what is wrong pertaining to today's world.

To summarize, morality and logical reasoning go hand in hand and one should not choose one over other as a basis of foundation. It is important to teach a child about what is wrong and what is right and also important to make him understand what stigmas should not be condoned to and put an end to, for the welfare of the society.