A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

A pet food company has received complaints that pets that consumed their food experienced vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness. In response to these complaints the company recalled for 4million pounds worth of pet food and carried out their own investigation to see if their product showed traces of chemicals that could adversely effect the pets. They eventually came out with a conclusion that they had only used chemicals approved by food regulation authorities and therefore the afore-mentioned symptoms was not caused by their product. Let us investigate the assumptions involved in this argument to validate whether the company is liable or not.

Firstly, we need to do a broader market study. We need to sample if the products of other companies were adhering to the food regulations. If so, are there products also causing similar symptoms in pets. If this is the case, the authorities are at fault and further research needs to be conducted as to which chemicals were detrimental to the health of pets. And accordingly, new regulations need to be passed with higher safety standards. If the products of other companies are not causing any ill-effects on the pets, then the concerned company cannot conclude its investigation. Maybe there is an issue with the packaging of the product. Or food created with substandard ingredients had a lesser shelf life than promised by the company. It could be any of these reasons beyond merely testing the chemicals found in the food. And therefore, the company cannot conclude its investigations.

We need to understand the group of pets that faced these bouts of illness. Was there an underlying pattern that will help us understand the root of the problem. Were symptoms observed more in younger pets as opposed to older ones? Often pet food is different for different age categories. For example, companies provide special dry and wet food for kittens that are younger than one year. Similarly, we needs to understand if the pets had some pre-existing health complications. Because like age, there is specialised food available for pets with complications such as urinary tract infections, kidney problems, etc. So, here the company is making an assumption that there were no mistakes in the packaging of their products. As in, adult food wasn't packaged and sold as a adolescent product. And regular food wasn't sold as specialised urinary infection diet food.

For a massive food company with such a wide outreach, these assumptions have to be validated at scale. Logistic mistakes need to be investigated at various levels, from the food production factories, to distribution outlets, in addition to food testing for chemicals. Only after sufficient evidence is collected, can we arrive at a conclusion of indemnifying the company of all blame.