Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

I believe that creating a foundation of logical reasoning in our education can go a long way in creating a more moral society. I feel logical reasoning can empower a person to consider more perspectives and arrive at a conclusion in a more holistic way than approaching it purely based on morals. I will explore this idea further with the following experiences from my personal life.

Moral education was a dedicated graded subject through my school education. We would begin everyday with a quote of the day which would target one specific virtue such as honesty, avoiding excessive greed, equanimity, sense of brotherhood, etc. We would then listen to stories from mythology or history that would highlight how a protagonist dealt with a certain situation by displaying the above-mentioned virtue or how he faced hardships because of his immoral decisions.

While these were enjoyable sessions of storytelling, I always wonder how much we took away from it as kids. Firstly, these stories were devoid of any relatable contexts for us as kids. Secondly, we concentrated on dealing with one virtue at a time which is seldom the way situations unfold in the real world. Thirdly, the stories always were narrated from the perspective of the protagonist and hence provided limited multiple perspectives of understanding why the situation unfolded the way it did. And as a result it portrayed a world where you live in a way a solitary existence where there are no repercussions of your actions on others.

I believe that because of these reasons I felt that teaching morality didn't serve its purpose. What we need is a for a child to understand the importance of thinking logically in any situation he finds himself in. He needs to understand that before judging a particular situation he should gain a deeper understanding of the multiple perspectives of the various stakeholders involved. He can only arrive at a conclusion when he has considered why someone acted a certain way and not just his own preconceptions and bias of what constitutes a moral way of life. He needs to understand that every action he takes affects not only his life but the lives of everyone involved. And when a person becomes this considerate and empathetic in his approach to life I believe it will create a more moral society.

For the above-mentioned reasons, I believe for a well rounded upbringing, education needs to focus more on creating a foundation of logical reasoning rather than teaching morality because it empowers the kid to approach the complexities of life in a better manner.