“At present, Mason City residents seldom use the nearby Mason River for any kind of recreational activity, even though surveys of the region’s residents consistently rank water sports (swimming, fishing, and boating) as a favorite form of recreation. Since there have been complaints about the quality of the water in the river, residents must be avoiding the river because they think that it is not clean enough. But that situation is about to change: the agency responsible for rivers in our region has announced plans to clean up Mason River. Therefore, recreational use of the river is likely to increase, so the Mason City council will need to increase its budget for improvements to the publicly owned lands along the Mason River.”

The argument above mentions that, despite that the Mason river is rarely used and has complaints about its smell and quality of water, the Manson City residents ranked water sports among their favorite recreational activities. By deciding by the state to clean up the Manson river, the city government should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities. However, it is easy to see that the argument suffer from several fallacies in its assumption.

To begin with, the argument mentions that Manson City residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities but that ranking is based on how many residents. It is not specifiy in the argument. In addition, the river, where those water sports are done, is rarely used but by this, it means that fewer people have vote for water sports.

Moreover, the argument mentions that in repsonse of the many complaints about the Manson River, the state will clean up the river and therefore, the watersport will increase in popularity. These are not two facts linked directly together, because cleaning the river doesn't mean that people will directly swim or boating or fish. Thus, it doesn't inferred that the riverside recreational facilities will increase.

Last but not least, the argument mentions that the city parkl department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities but this is irrelevant. Indeed, why should the city park department devotes more money of its budget to water activities. The aim of a department is to attract more residents of the city in their field, in this case parks, and not providing enough money to clean up the Manson river.

Overall, the argument is far from forceful enough to persuade that just by devoting more money on clean up the Manson river, people will get more attract for water sports and hence, increase the riverside recreational facilities.