"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument states the effects of birth on an individual rhesus monkey from a group of eighteen monkeys. The argument in its current form is not convincing. The support provided for the conclusion is weak and argument makes unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, it provides no explanation to why the species of rhesus monkeys were chosen for the experiment. Moreover, only eighteen monkeys were selected for the experiment. For any reliable experimental results the experiment must be performed on different species living in different habitats and on a large scale. The influence of other environmental factors must be taken into account.

Secondly, it is assumed that the hormone cortisol is responsible for increased activity levels. There can be a possibility that other hormone or an intermix of hormones are resposible for this hyperactivity.

Thirdly, the anatomy of humans is different from those of monkeys. I agree with the fact that both are mammals but they respond to stimuli in a drastically different manner. It is assumed that what has been seen in monkeys will apply to that in humans and vice-versa.

In conclusion, I would like to sum up with the statement that the above abstract is not fully convincing and contain many loopholes that need to be looked at.