A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The proposed argument states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. The evidence given for this is- children living in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have limited dental care and still the rate of tooth decay is less than that of children living the suburban areas of U.S who have greater professional dental care access. However, various factors should be consider before coming to the conclusion.

The fact that the children in Nepal have lesser tooth decay problem then the children in U.S. could be because of the less eating options in Nepal. People living in mountain have limited options for food.most of their daily food consists of only vegetables and fruits grown in mountains. It is possible that the children living in Nepal are eating healthier food than the children in U.S. therefore, children in U.S. may have more tooth decay .

Another factor that the children in Nepal face less problems relating to teeth may be the result of the possibility that they are using less chemicals products for their teeth such as tree stem in place of toothpaste. Toothpaste contains various teeth whitening chemicals which are harmful to teeth and which cause various tooth problems. Children in U.S may be using toothpaste which results in more tooth problems.

Third factor that maybe causing more tooth decay in U.S children is because children living in U.S are not taking care of their teeth as they should be. Brushing teeth two times a day is very important to keep the teeth healthy. Children in Nepal could be brushing their teeth multiple times to keep their teeth safe from decaying as they know that they have limited dental care. On the other hand children in U.S may not be taking good care of their teeth which is resulting in more tooth decay.