Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In given argument, Two pest treatment firms, Fly-Away and Buzzoff, were compared in this memo by the vice president of a food distribution company. Finally, he determined that Buzzoff Pest Control was more affordable than Fly-Away. This manner, he may save money for his business. At first look, the vice president's conclusion appears to be rational, but it is false since it is based on a series of erroneous assumptions.

To begin, comparing the amount of food destroyed by two distinct companies during this month is wrong. After a month, it's impossible to determine which company is best. Environmental conditions may have an effect on the spread and distribution of pests. As a result, the vice president of the firm cannot rely his decision to sign a contract with a certain company on the survey results. This issue casts doubt on the vice president's assertion that his company will save money by returning to Buzzoff Company.

The author visited each company after compiling a list. Fly-Away and Buzzoff were used to control pests at his Palm City and Wintervale City warehouses, respectively. The differences in weather and environmental conditions between the two cities will impact the pests' activity, making it impossible to compare the performance of the two firms using this information. This element indicates that the Buzzoff company may be less capable than previously believed.

The writer also thinks that returning to Buzzoff would be better for business. In the long term, the vice president believes Buzzoff is cheaper than Fly-Away Pest Control. The Buzzoff firm may have been unable to control the bugs, causing significant damage to the building. Switching to Fly-Away Pest Control Company could save the Palm City enterprise over $10000 in "pest damages." To assess the vice president's presumption that he will return, more information regarding the food distribution company's previous relationship with Buzzoff is required. However, the vice president's memo provides no evidence to back up this claim.

Before concluding, the writers should look at other plausible explanations for two cities' conditions. To compare Palm City with Wintervale, the author assumes that the underlying conditions are equal, despite the lack of specific evidence. Palm City's environment is likely hot and humid, fostering the growth of pests. Winterville, on the other hand, gets plenty of snow, making pest control easier. It's ludicrous to compare two cities' weather and claim Buzzoff's service is superior.

To sum up, the reasoning is conspicuously flawed. Returning to Buzzoff is advised since it saves the distribution company money, however the facts supporting that recommendation does not address the previously expressed assumptions. It is critical to have confidence in Fly-Away-Pest-Control Company and to dedicate additional time to assessing the company's overall performance. As a result, if the food-distribution company follows the pattern of transferring from one company to another and then back again, its reputation may be harmed. The memo's argument is judged unacceptable due to the exclusion of the aforementioned elements.