The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Argument states that by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula will ensure making it best-selling facial cleanser on the market. Premise offered by author is that This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers. Since author did not consider some assumptions, lack of consideration of these crucial assumptions is making argument unsound as well as not logically convincing.

First assumption argument assumes that Without an enormous media customers will not be aware of our product. Author did not give any exegesis for this assumption. Take example of high busy lives of city New York, city which never sleeps. Most of people do not have time for watching television instead they consider reviews are more important than publicity. For purchasing groceries they go to store and check out shelves for their desired need. Finally they will select product about which they have read all reviews who used it. If that reviews are compatible with them then they will buy it otherwise they would not. Here reviews of people who have used that product are fine then people will buy it not because of publicity.

Second assumption argument presents that fight fire with fire is only method for selling the new formula. Here also author lacks elucidation. media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem can lead to have consequences also. People might think that may be new formula is inferior in qualities so Media is showing insatiable interest. So it will motivate people not to buy it but author wants exactly opposite of it. So this method is not favorable to author for selling new formula.

Third assumption argument omits that best-selling facial cleanser on the market can be achieved by publicity. Author did not give information for quality of new formula whether is better than all existing rivals in market. If it is better than author will achieve his desired result of making it best-selling. If it is not better than its rivals then no matter what author does will be profligate. Quality information is simply assumed by author.

Ultimately, argument is unsound and ineffective. Because it did not consider crucial assumptions listed above. Evidence for support of argument that using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula does little. Finally argument can be strengthened by claiming that reviews are compatible and nice for people so it will inspire then to buy. Quality of new formula is better than all its existing rivals in market. media’s insatiable interest will favor author instead of defaming new formula