"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The author recommends that Buckingham College must build new dormitories to serve the students for their need of housing. When it is considered as a whole, the argument reveals several instances of weak reasoning and fails to prove the points. To justify the recommendation, author notes that trends are showing increase in enrollment numbers, also in prices of rental market around the college and new dormitories provide good advertisement for students to prefer Buckingham College. However, neither the reliability of the trends are questioned, nor it is proven to having new dormitories attract students. Hence, author needs to investigate analysis deeply and needs to provide proofs on the claims.

To begin with, author readily assumes that the numbers in trends are reliable and would be stable over years. Unless this point is based on solid ground, one cannot build a case on it. For example, current trend could be derived from a survey of high school students, who would like to pursue higher education. In this case, students are only talking about their current dreams, which cannot stay the same over years. Students also have too many colleges to evaluate so that it could be the case that Buckingham College is not a preferred one. Moreover, doubling numbers are not believable since a college first needs to build new buildings for classrooms and have enough open space to provide for students. Hence author must present evidences that trends are based on a valid, reliable analysis and must prove that the college has capacity to support those many students in the future.

In addition to that, author claims that the rent prices are increased in the town, which makes it even harder to accommodate for students. Again, this is an unwarranted claim as it does not demonstrate a clear connection between the increased prices and purchasing power. To illustrate further, increasing prices are usual concepts in economic world as long as it is parallel with the increase in the income. Therefore, with the inflation, rent prices can be higher but incomes of students’ parents or students’ salaries could be increasing as well. If the argument had provided an evidence that purchasing power is declining while the price of the houses are rising, it would have been a lot more plausible to reader.

Finally, while satisfying the housing needs of students, the author cites that this plan could even attract more student to the college. Yet, claim is based on the assumption that the merit of a college is new dormitories in the perspective of students. Unfortunately, there are more important conditions that students look for in colleges. For instance, the graduate placements or the quality of the education is most significant of many. Still, this assumption could be correct, if there was another college nearby with a similar quality in education to Buckingham College. In this matter, new dormitories could swayed the students from preferring the other college. Without an evidence that shows College have convivial rivals to prove superiority, reader is left with impression that claim made by author is only an inkling rather than a substantiated case/

In conclusion, author’s points are not persuasive as it sounds. To strengthen the argument, one must provide more concrete evidences, perhaps reliable surveys showing these trends and analysis of prices in terms of inflation and purchasing power. Lastly, to better evaluate that College can attract more students with dormitories, one must give evidence on the competencies in nearby colleges.