Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Extinction is seen as a natural process in the history but it does not mean that each species' faith is to be vanished. Humans' activities can cause the speed up the natural extinction process but humans also have the ability to save species. Some disagree with this idea and thinks that natural process must not be perturbated unless it is caused by people. Still, not helping those animals could cause imbalances in ecosystem and humans' lives.

To begin with, each animal or plant has a significant role in the ecosystem. When one of them is extinct, this could endanger serious problems for humans. For example, flies are disturbing insects and thought to be useless. Actually, while they feed on the dead animals and garbages, they decompose the material for earth to use again. Moreover, many plants, spiders and bigger inspects feed on flies for its protein. Therefore, losing flies can cause severe disturbances on the food chain and ecosystem recycling. If there is a slight possibility that ecosystem is off balance due to an extinction, people must find a way to help the organism. Otherwise, our daily lives would be interrupted severily.

Secondly, humans heavily rely on certain animals both for companionship and meat production. While dogs are the loyal friends of people, chickens and cows are used to keep many people from starving. Let's think about a natural outbreak occuring among chickens. Since their numbers are decreasing substantially, butchers and markets cannot supply enough to feed humans. In the process, the price of other meats increases and more people are under risk of dying. If the policy was implemented, penury would result in many people to starve or get sick. Even in the annihilation due to natural causes, having responsibilities to help chickens could help us to save many lives around the world.

On the opposite side, some may discuss the laissez-faire intuition for the nature, which tells that human cannot be involved in a natural process unless they are the cause. If the nature does not prefer to host a species, it has a right to remove it from earth surface. For instance, mentioned rule suggests that we should not help a dog fallen inside of a frozen lake. What about a child starving due to natural causes? After taking a picture of a starving boy in Africa, the famous cameraman did not help the kid, which completely complies with laissez-faire. The incident is not moral even though the rule suggests it. Furthermore, considering laisses-faire for only animals is speciesism, which also is not moral because all living creatures are the part of this nature.

In conclusion, consequences of the policy are pernicious imbalances in human life and ecosystem. Disappearences of species, which each has a purpose in nature including humans, endanger the functioning of nature. Also, it leads to horrible results for human beings. Hence, society must save endangered species although some people think that as an intervene to nature's businesses because the consequences of not helping are worst than intervening.