Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

The educational issues are very controversial yet have a great importance for a society in order to thrive. One of these issues is the curriculum that students must go through before stepping into life. Until the latest decade, educators and authorities had the only power to build a curriculum for their students, who are the ones going through the education but do not have a saying about it. Indisputably, thoughts and interests of children must be understood by the institutions to give them opportunities. However, educators should prepare the core curriculum only by themselves and provide variety of elective courses on the interests of students.

To begin with, if educators were to offer what students wanted, it would be a warzone with different interests leading no productive results in terms of the education. While educators have the experience to understand what students must learn, children have whimsical interests with no goals. For example, students watching Jackie Chan or Martian want to be a fighter or an astronaut for a short time. Understanding of these two professions are not based on the real life experiences or detailed instructions. When they confront the requirements of being an astronaut, they could give up. Educators are aware that it would not be efficient to follow these interests.

In addition to that, education is not only about the technical details of the field of studies, they are also the appreciation of life. The purpose of the education must be teaching the values, developing stimulated intellect, showing how to seek out opportunities and contributing the growth of the society. Nevertheless, students who are not able to recognize the aspect of life, will censure these kinds of classes in order to not get bored or just to be seen as if they know the aspects. For instance, it is unbelievable that how successful or reach people are so rude and lacking social polish. The president of United States, Donald Trump is the remarkable example of this subject. Both of these people graduated from great colleges and became the head of two powerful countries. Yet, they do not know how to behave and act in front of the whole world.

On the opposite side, some say that students can be motivated to learn when they are interested in the class. Still, the motivation comes through many ways, which educators can use it as an advantage to get the most efficient results. Lately, there are student projects, contests and field trips to both motivate the student and teach them manners and technical details. One of them is CANSAT, which is a satellite build project for students. Through this process, students get interested while building the real systems with real sensors and software. Moreover, in the end, they have a sense of what it is like to be an engineer or a project manager. Again, if we would ask them, they would rather sit in the class and watch a movie about satellites but not to go through the project, which seems as an arduous task for them.

In conclusion, curriculum must be decided by the experts, who have an understanding of the students and the field of studies. Asking children what they want mostly causes the curriculum to be lazy, easy and unproductive because kids do not know the importance aspects of the education. Still, some argue that students can be more inclined to learn if the curriculum was intriguing for them.