Slimville city residence have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that their exercise habits conform more closely to what doctors and health practitioners recommend than they did 7 years ago. During those 7 years, more people have been taking daily walks than ever before. Although a few gymnasiums in the city have closed down, the other sport complexes and gymnasiums see full attendance in some seasons. Because Of these positive changes in the exercising habits of the city residents, we predict that the obesity rate of the city will soon be below the national average.

The author claims that the residents of Slimville city have adopted a healthier lifestyle and have been following the recommendations of the doctors and health practitioners. The author believes that these positive changes will lead to decrease in obesity rates. Even though at the first glance, this seems like a valid an argument, but on careful examination it is found that the argument is rife with holes and assumptions.

The author talks about a survey which shows that the exercise habits of residents are similar to that of the doctors’ recommendations. This survey lacks evidence without which it can be considered unreliable. Questions like- what is the sample size of the survey? how thorough was the survey? need to be answered. If the survey included a small group of people, then it can’t be applicable to rest of the city. Also, what was the age group of the people surveyed? There is a possibility that the people surveyed belong to an older age group and have pre-existing health conditions and need to follow the exercise and diet recommendations by their physician. If so, we cannot conclude anything about the younger generations and their lifestyle. Thus, unless these questions are answered, the survey cannot be used to draw any conclusions

Furthermore, the author talks about the full attendance in gymnasiums. But the author fails to mention strength of these gymnasiums. If the strength is not big enough, it cannot be inferred that a major part of the city uses these gymnasiums. Also, the kind of people who visit these sport complexes are not mentioned. If the complexes are frequented by sport players only, then we cannot claim that a majority of the residents are exercising frequently.

The author goes on and concludes that following the recommendations of doctors and health practitioners is responsible for healthier lifestyles of the residents. But there can be an alternative explanation- the residents may have started following a balanced diet and reduced the intake of unhealthy food. The author also concludes that all these claims will result in decrease in obesity. Although the author is very optimistic, more evidence is required before we make such bold assumptions. In spite of following the exercise recommendations, the residents can consume an unhealthy diet, full of junk and fatty foods, which can affect the health of the residents and increase obesity.

Following proper guidelines by well-known health practitioners can result in a healthier lifestyle, but there are many more factors which need to be considered before making bold claims regarding the obesity rate of the city.