Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interest when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

Education plays a vital role in life. It shapes our thought process and equips us with knowledge to navigate through life. Choosing a stream of study is, without a doubt, is one of the most important decisions one takes in his/her life. Often, many students struggle with choosing the ‘right’ field. The definition of a ‘right’ or an apt field differs from individual to individual. The most common dilemma a young adult faces is to choose a field which he/she likes or a field which will make him/her ‘successful’. I believe that it is important to evaluate both- a student’s passion and interests as well as a field which will equip the student with a skill set that will ensure a successful carrier.

Being a young adult in today’s world has far more problems than we think. The increasing competition has become a burden. At the tender age of 17-18, it is required that a student chooses a field of study- a field which he/she will be working in everyday of their lives. Definitely, there is a lot of pressure to make the ‘right’ choice. But the most important question is what is ‘right’ choice? Who defines the terms for this ‘right’ choice? In my opinion, every individual should define his/her own terms. After all, it is a field he/she must work in their entire life.

For instance, many students are pressured to take enroll into STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Medical) backgrounds for the sole reason that there are many carrier prospects. There are many carrier prospects for people graduating from a STEM field, but what if the person graduating hates science and has hated science since middle school? He/she is going to have no interest in study of science and is, most likely to be a mediocre student. Instead, if he/she was allowed to choose a field of his/her liking, then the chances of him/her excelling in it is far more. Instead of working in a field one hates his/her entire life, it is far better to work in a field of their passion. The chances of a student succeeding a field of his/her liking is far more than in a field which is considered to be the ‘ideal’ choice.

That being said, it is also important to consider the market demand. After all, earning a livelihood is important for survival. While, considering to opt for a field of the student’s choice, it is also important to evaluate the market trends. A student may have great passion for a field of study and may graduate top of his/her class, but it is of no use if one can’t convert this passion into a source of livelihood.

Thus, one should consider choosing a field of his/her liking as a field of study but not without examining market prospects.