Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws laws

The judicial system plays an important role in the welfare of the country. Laws serve as a tool to maintain order in an otherwise chaotic world. But the way a law is perceived by the locals is equally important. It is difficult to strongly agree or disagree on the said issue-"Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws laws" because there are many factors which need to be weighed in before we can reach any conclusion.

The terms "just" and "unjust" and wildly subjective. Every human being has their own definitions and interpretations of what is just and what is unjust. Many a times, what adults in a family may find fair and just, their own teenage children may find it unfair and unjust. If so, how can we expect a society, or a town, or an entire country to unanimously agree to a law or a policy being fair and just?

Further, if every individual has a different opinion on a law, should they disobey it if they disagree with it? Imagine what a chaotic world it would be if half the country decided to disobey a law because they "thought" it was unfair. For example, in the Indian city of Pune, taking into considerations the increasing number of fatalities due to road accidents, the local government decided to impose a fine of Rs 500, if an individual was seen driving a bike/scooter/two-wheeler vehicle without a helmet. This law was received with mixed reviews. Some thought this was a much needed law to protect the bike riders in case of an accident, others thought it was unnecessary and a way to "loot" the locals. Thus, every law is going to be received with mixed reviews, but we need to follow them to maintain order in this world.

That being said, one should not blindly follow any and every law made by the government. If a law imposed is a step against humanity, or strips any citizen of their basic rights, then yes, society as a whole should come together and fight for themselves. For example, in many countries, the LGBTQ+ community weren't allowed to legally get married. Getting married to our loved ones is a right every human should have. Thus, in countries like USA and UK, many citizens took to the streets to protest for their right. And positive outcomes have been witnessed to such resistance.

Thus, such issues being wildly subjective, need proper considerations for the different situations and the conclusion will differ from situation to situation.