In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage above states that Waymarsh citizens misreported their reading preferences in a study. The premisis for this conclusion is the fact that, while, according to the study, the type of book preferred by the residents of the city is classics, the most popular type of book to be ckecked out in the public libraries is the mystery novel. However, this conclusion depends on a number of implicit assumptions which need to be checked before accepting the argument.

Firstly, the passage presupposes that the sample of people going to the public libraries is representative of the population at whole. Only in such a case the preferences of the residents and of people attending the public libraries must be the identical. However, it is possible that some groups of citizens are overrepresented in the sample of library-goers, while others are underrepresented. For example, it may be the case that only the less priviledged part of the city takes books in libraries while others prefer to buy new books. Alternatively, it may be the older people who go to the libraries; in contrast, younger people prefer to read books online. In these cases the fact that different social groups prefer different types of books may help to explain the discrepancy between the findings of the two studies without coming to the conclusion that citizens misinformed the researchers.

Secondly, the passage makes the assumption that the first study itself was conducted properly with a large sample representative of the city population. It is not apriori true. According to the laws of statistics, if the sample is too small, no proper conclusion can be made about the population as a whole. The same can be said about a non-representitative sample. Imagine that the sample for the first study was a group of University students majoring in English. They are likely to have preferences in literature which differ from the preferences of the whole population. In this case the first study is not valid at its results cannot be extrapolated to the whole city.

Thirdly, it is assumed that the citizens check out the types of books in the libraries proportionally to their preferences towards this type of books. This assumption doesn’t always hold. For instance, it may be the case that citizens have the books of their preferred type in home libraries, so there is no need to go to the public libraries to read classics. At the same time, the residents of the city doesn’t like mystery stories as much as to buy them but still enjoy reading them sometimes. It may explain why the mystery stories are more popular in the libraries than classics while the latter being the favourite type of books.

To sum up, the argument is rife with loopholes, and if at least one of these assumptions is not supported, the conclusions cannot be accepted as true.