Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage states that the decline of arctic deer population is the result of the global warming. This conclusion is built on the premisis that, as global warming leads to melting of the arctic ice, deers cannot move from one island to another by ice, so their migrational patterns are disrupted. However, this argument is rife with implicit assumptions, and additional evidence is necessary to evaluate the conclusion.

Firstly, while the passage presupposes that no factor other than the climate change is affecting the deer population, it is not nevessarily true. If the hunters hunt the deers at the higher rate than before, it might be a reason for lower population. Alternatively, human activity may lead to pollution, and polluted environment may affect the quality of the plants on which deers feed or cause diseases, thus, increasing mortality rates of the deers. More data on arctic deer hunting and pollution in the area is needed to evaluate if these atleranative explanations hold.

Secondly, it is assumed that the global warming has already affected the habitat of arctic deers. However, it may be the case that its effects are more pronounced in warmer regions and arctic deers are still able to travel from ome island to another by ice. That would indermine the reasoning presented in the passage as their migration is not disrupted and, consequently, the climate change cannot account for decline in the population. Additional information on ice melting in the region is needed to find out whether that the area is indeed affected by the global warming and whether ice doesn’t cover the distance between islands anymore.

Thirdly, there is a possibility that no decline in deer population occurred at all. The only piece of evidence on which this conclusion is based in the reports of local hunters. However, the hunters may easily make mistakes. Suppose, for example, that due to climate change deers migrated to north from the areas where hunters used to see them. If hunters, not wanting to go too far from home, didn’t increase the area they hunt at and didn’t follow the deers to the north, they may interpret the lower frequency of meeting a deer as the decrease in their population, which would be a mistake. Alternatively, hunters might have incentives to misreport the information on deers’ number. For example, they may hope that the threat of their extinction may lead to the higher financing of the wildlife support in the area, which would result in more animals around and easier hunting. Thus, it is recommended to conduct additional research to check the hunters’ claims and count precisely the arctic deer population.

To sum up, the argument has plenty of loopholes and a number of additional evidence needs to be examined before the conclusion is accepted as true. More data on deer hunting and envirnment pollution, deer population, and the way ice covers the distance between the islands has to be collcted in order to evaluate the validity of the argument.