SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville prove that Corporateville is a superior place to live then Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp’s current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

“Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons.The argument is based on some of the unwarranted assumptions regarding the plan of shifting the headquarters from Middlesberg to Corporateville.If taken as a whole these unstated assumptions render the conclusion that,shifting the is headquarter is a best decision,a huge suspect.

Firstly the argument assumes that high infux in the number of house owners in Corporateville makes it a superior place to live in than Middlesberg.The argument does not provide the reason for high infux of people in the city of Corporateville which may be due to the availability of cheap houses.This high influx in the number of people may lead to increased congestion within the city and may lead to scarcity of basic resources like healthcare,educational facilities,electricity and food .For these reasons the city of Corporateville may not be a superior place to live.

Secondly the argument assumes that a superior place to live is also a superior place to have corporate office.The City of corporateville may be a good residential city but this does not mean its a good place to setup Supercorp's headquarters.For example lets assume that the city of Corporateville has numerous posch residential buildings,parks and resorts.Neither of these suggests that the city of Corporateville is a superior place to shift the headqaurters.Unless the argument provides a concrete evidence for proving why Corporateville is superior than Middlesberg for shifiting the headquaters,the Supercorp could be making a wrong decision of shifting the headqaurters.

Finally the argument talks about the employee survey.The argument fails to provide some of the details about the survey like on whom the survey was conducted and when was the survey conducted.These details may provide some important information for example if the survey was conducted on the employee's who are living close to the city of Corporateville then it is higly likely that they would respond positively for shifting the headquarters to Corporateville as it would reduce their commute time.Additionally, if the survey was conducted long time ago then the results of the survey may not hold good today as the conditions when the survey was conducted might have changed today.So shifing the headquarters to Corporateville now may not be a good decision unless the argument provides some more details regarding the employee survey conducted.

The argument makes several unstated assumptions that seriously undermines its validity.Unless those unstated assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart,and Supercorp could be making a major mistake by shifting their headquarters to Corporateville from Middlesberg.