"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved two years ago by McAdam Road Builders, is now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 66, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. Appian Roadways has recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery, and it has hired a new quality-control manager. Because of its superior work and commitment to quality, we should contract with Appian Roadways rather than McAdam Road Builders to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls

According to author to build a new shopping mall they should give contract to Appain builders rather than McAdam Road Builders because surface of section route 101 which was build by MCAdam Road Builders is now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes in last two years and a section of route 66 is in very manageable Along with their everlasting work the author mentions that Appian Roadways has recently purchases state-of-art paving machinery and it has hired a new quality-control manager. Finally the author from all the mentioned indents concludes that Appian Roadways has superior work and commitment to quality. The argument is plagued with logical flaws that fails to convince the reader that the conclusion is justified condition which was paved by Appain Roadways 4 years ago.

Firstly the author mentions that the work of Appian Roadways is of better quality than McAdam Road Builders since their work after four year was in good condition than two year work of McAdam Road Builders.The work done by McAdam Road Builders may be better than appain roadways but due to environmental condition on section of route 101 that road has been cracked due to bad effect of environment in two years where as on route section 66 road was developed by appain roadways is not as good as McAdams Road Builders and the work of pavement done on section 66 is not much affected by environmental condition so that this is an unfair comparison for checking quality of work between two builders.

Another reason for this is that on the section of route 101 due to heavy load and heavy traffic pavement has been damaged on the other there is a less load and traffic on section of route of 66 so that this road is still in good condition after 4 years of work. so this comparison have not equal weight.

Now further more author says that appain roadways has purchased new state of art paving machinery and recruited an new quality control manager. it may be possible that MCAdam Road Builders have good equipment and with a knowledgeable quality control managers which appain roadways does not have for building a Road.

Hence, all the points that author has mentioned doesn't support his conclusion and thus must be recalculated and then only final resulted should be made.