In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author,of the proposal given to increase the budget for Mason City's riverside recreational activities, offers an efficient and interesting argument but it contains some serious hidden flaws. Therefore, to take this proposal further, would require more logical information as well as to look upon those hidden flaws.

In the survey, residents' love for water sports was reported but it did not show up to how much extent the residents will use river for water sports. Whether they would do it only on weekend or in vacations or on daily basis. Also, if the water sport did not go regularly, then the condition of the river would again deteriorate.

According to the author, the survey gave residents the only choice of water sports. If they would have given them the choic of other uses like hydroelectric dam, use of water for drinking purposes etcetra,then the choice of residents would definitely be different.

Additionally, the objection arises that would government do her work seriously seeing the past records or corruption woulld be the interference? The point is valid because previously the amount of money alloted for river cleaning was not used properly leading to the contamination of river.

Also, according to the given flawed survey, if government accepts the proposal then from where the money would be derived from? Would it be fair if the budget of medical programs, education programs, infrastructure programs be deducted and given to the Mason city's recreational activities?

Nonethless, the development of the river would make the city beautiful. Therefore, government should give the water sports tender to the residents near by.This would not only give daily wages to the people at job but also give revenue to the government by increased tourism.Thus, the author;s argument does not justify the increase in budet for Mason city's recreational activities.