In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

This argument focuses on a state plan to clean up Mason River, after residents has complained about the quality of its water. It supports the need for the city governement to increase the part of the budget devoted to mainting the quality of riverside recreational facilities, as the cleaning of the river would push Mason city residents to practise water sports more often in the river and as only little of the budget is now devoted to the recreational facilities. This possibility of an increase of the use of the river for water sports could be explained by the taste of Mason City residents for water sports : it is ranked among their favorite activites according to surveys.

Firstly, this argument depends on the stated argument that people responding to the surveys are representative of Mason City residents. However, if the surveys was given to people from rich background, a caracteristic correlated to the practice of water sports, it would introduce a bias. Moreover, if water sports are popular among residents in terms of ranking, it could not so popular in terms of people practising it : it could be the third more practised activities, only because other activities are marginally practised. Additionally, the arguments depends also on the fact that peope complaining about the quality of the river's water are representative of citizens, which could not be the case.

Secondly, this argument depends on the unstated argument that Mason City residents don't use the Mason River flowing because of the river's water quality. Thus, if the water was to be cleaned, more people would use the river for water sports. However, we can imagine that they don't use this water because they don't have the time to practise these activities, or because these activities are too expensive for them compared to the other recreational activities they have ranked in the surveys. Indeed, stating that an activity is great does not imply neceserly that one regularly practices it.

Moreover, it could also be the case because of the little budget allocated to the riverside recreational facilities, or because Mason city is loccated near the sea and residents prefer practising water sports there. If these assumptions prove unwarranted, one could distinguish differents consequences on the argument. If only some people were practising water sports, we could observe an increase of water sport practising, and the money spent by the governement would be only marginally useful. If water sports were popular but not practised in the river because of the lack of facilities, the money will be useful.

Lastly, if people were not practising in the river for other reasons than the quality of water, it would be completely useless.