In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The state assumed that the cleanup of the Mason River will definitely lead to an increase in the use of the river for water recreational activities. However, this conclusion is not well supported by the author and few questions need to be answered in order to prevent the government of the Mason State from spending unnecessarily.

First, the author sited a survey of the Mason City resident, but results of surveys are not always true. In fact some surveys may be over exaggerated or even not well taken. The survey taken may have be sampled on minority in the community or even given to residents that stay along the rivers side. Of course the latter residents would prefer swimming, boating and fishing compared to those that stay away from the river. To strengthen this argument, the author must be able to provide proofs for the survey of at least Ninety-nine percent of the residents to see if they would prefer water recreational activities.

In addition to this, the survey questionnaires may be vague to individual respondents. “Do you like water recreational activities?”, may not be termed as engaging in water sports like swimming and boating. Majority might have intense interest for watching those recreational activities and not engaging in them just like people do watch football without playing football. In a bit to address this, the questionnaire must be explicitly written to account for most of these questions on the citizens.

The author claims that the smell and dirt of the river has debarred citizens from using the river for sports, consequently a cleanup would foster this activities once again. These assumptions may not be true. The citizens close to the river might have been disturbed by the smell and hence will want the government of the country to clean the river up with alacrity. That does not mean they would use the river after clean up.

The River cleanup in the community will bring about a better health status of those leaving very close to the river but will not necessarily amount to the usage of the river for recreational activities. Although, it is a good thing for the state government to invest on health related programs(such as cleaning up the dirty and smelly river), but it does not mean that they should invest their money unnecessarily on making the river a recreational center without much proofs ; which will exhaust more funds. On this note, the author falls apart in his argument that a cleanup will lead to a frequent use of the river for sporting activities.