In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The plan for cleaning the Mason river and alloting more money from the year's budget devoted for the plan to increase the riverside recreational facilities is a big and bold movement. The city governments plan and thoughts are in the right directions yet, I would say there should be more data before any of the plans are finalised.

The survey which gives data as to Mason City residents favorite recreational activities to be water sports is an excellent data. Though it might have some deficinences like what year did they collect the data or which group of residents did the survey focus on. The survey could be very old when there was less pollution and residents and the water was more cleaner. It could be also possible the group the survey included were priviledged people with their own private river side and they use it more often. With the collection of more detailed collection and subgroups the data of the recreational activities becomes more reliable.

The precision in the survey about where the residents like to do their favorite recreational activities like water sports also matters. The Mason river might be small and not big and wide enough for the all. Hence, alloting a big budget amount to a river which would not be used even after cleaning would be a waste of resource, time and money. Cleaning might not bring in an increase of river sports in this case. Additional information is neccessary before any action is taken.

The complaints about the Mason river's water quality and smell is a geniue concern from the residents. There is no data data provided why the residents want to address that matter. It could be for myraid of other reasons than using it for water recreational activities. It might be a bad sight of how polluted the river might be. So, details might be taken for how the river became the present condition. Is there any illegal dumping or recent change that affected. Unless the root cause of the bad water qualityis not addressed the use of budget to clean would go waste.

The plan to clean the Mason River is very initiative in the part of the city government of Mason City to improve the water quality and make it beautiful for water recreational activities. Since more data on the river usage and the residents preference on their water recreational activities is needed before taking a big step.