In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The given argument has a lot of fallacies in itself. For most, determining that the announcement of clean up will eventually add water sports as a recreational activity may not be completely valid argument to support. Moreover, the whole assumption is based on the survey whose main agenda is not clear.

The whole assumption of given argument is based on the surveys performed on residents of Mason City. It clearly stated that the residents are interested in the water sports as a recreational activities however it fails to show other factors relating to the survey. It doesn’t state about the budgets, the time available and the willingness of residents to maintain the water sports activity if it is added. Furthermore, it doesn’t state by how much of margin water sports has been ranked among their favorite, there might be a possibility of a small marginal different between water sports and other activities. In addition to this it has mentioned how the river is being neglected, hence, the survey doesn’t guarantee that water sports will attract the residents and at the same time residents will take care of the river as a whole and be more attentive to it.

The argument later on goes on assuming that the recent state response to clean up the river will eventually add water sports as a recreational activity. This is based on an illogical assumption. Just cause the river will be cleaned up and maintained cannot be regarded as a guaranteed agreement for addition of water sports. What next can be assumed is how the cleaned water will be maintained. There may be possibilities of more surveys in future, the residents might choose to keep the river as a natural fauna with addition of simple wildlife like goose and birds around the river. An engineered insight is has to be carried out to allow the possibility of adding water sports in the river.

Finally, making a requirement for the government to devote more money for riverside activities is unreasonable. We don’t exactly know how much budget the government already has and if the budget is enough to clean the river itself let alone add water sports. Furthermore, it’s not sure on how much time it will take to clean up the river as it seems to be in a very noisome fragile state and might contain alot of harmful bacterias. Thus the assumption of starting the water sports within this year is unachievable at all. The argument could have focused on future plans rather than a focusing on definitive assumed outcome of governments response and the survey.

Hence, by presuming everything on the basis of very little facts the argument is unwarranted. The argument could have focused more on the current scenarios to derive the presumption rather than stating a guaranteed statement.