In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The analized argument is used to deduce that, for several reasons, cleaning up Mason River will result in an increase in the use of Mason River for water sports. By the means of a closer look at the sentences of the argument, though, a number of flaws is evident and, because of some logical fallacies and superficial use of some terms, the argument itself is, all being considered, to be deemed incorrect. In particular, some assumptions are not clear and not explained at all, thus resulting in some discrepancies.

To begin with,a considerable number of assumptions are made about the surveys. They are, in fact, used to demonstrate that, because of the highly ranked water sports liked by Mason City residents, if it was not for some then specified problems the use of the river would have been more consistent. As often happens, though, surveys do not directly display the reality of facts: for instance, it is not uncommon that people answer to surveys without real attention to the motivations of the survey itself, often giving wrong or unplausible answers, thus corrupting the trustworthiness of the results. What is more, no clear definition is given about the surveys. What were the other sports? If, for example, the alternative to water sports were really unknown and unusual sports, then it would be wierd not to consider the surveys useless for the aims of the argument (people would have had no other choice in the list rather than water sports).

If, for any reason, the surveys are to be considered compelling and sufficiently proved, there are still many other opaque assumptions. Among the reasons for people not using the river is the smell issue. Once again,some words are not clearly qualified. How many and of which importance are the complaints referred in the argument? Be they just a little number and of ephimeral and minimal natuer, then the whole statement about the spoken noticable increase in the use of the river would not be expected to be true. In the same way, the complaints themselves, reguardless of their number and greatness, are only apparently related to the rarity of use of the rivere. It would be useful to know something more about the assumption that people are not enjoying and using of the river because of the complaints for the smell.

On the other hand, similar considerations have to be made about the last sentence of the argument, namely, that local governments should devote more money for riverside recreational facilities because it will end up in a rocketed up use of the river. Once again, there are no clear links between the two occurrences. In fact, it could be true that the above facilities are already good enough for people to enjoy the river, so that an investment in their budgets would have no concrete results in the use of the river; or, it could be the case that the same facilities have problems that have nothing to do with their budgets. In these circumstances, refuting the assumptions could totally undermine the argument.

To sum up, some disattention in the logical flow of the argument led to a completely incorrect conlusion, a surely wrong derivative that could e a substantial waste of money for local governments. If, though, more data about the surveys and more infos about citizens' complaints and recreational facilities' problems are given, then it could be consistent to align with the argument itself.