"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

This argument claims that the government has to educate people about safe riding and discourage wearing helmets when they ride bikes because bicyclists with helmet caused more accidents. However, the argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the cited statistics indicate that the accidents involved people riding bicycles were doubled for ten years while the number of people riding bicycles with helmets on. Unless the author shows that the absolute number of people riding bicycles doesn’t change over ten years, this argument is flawed. It would be natural that the number of accidents increases as the cycling population increases. Without presenting the absolute numbers of the people riding bicycles and the accidents in now and ten years ago, the statistic doesn’t support the author’s claim that riding with helmets increases the number of accidents.

Moreover, the author assumes that people wearing helmets while they riding bicycles are willing to take more risks. However, logically, people want to wear helmets because they want to protect their heads from unfavorable accidents in the first place. Unless the author presents the statistics that the majority of people ride bicycles with helmets on enjoys the extreme bike riding, the assumption will not hold.

Finally, the argument states that the government discourages people to wear helmets in order to reduce the number of accidents as well as educate people about safe riding. It is questionable that safety education and discouraging to wear helmets would decrease the chance of getting involved in accidents. On the contrary, the government should recommend or even enforce people to put on helmets so people prevent any fatal head damages.

In conclusion, based on the unwarranted assumptions mentioned above, the argument fails to provide enough evidence that wearing helmets while riding bicycles increases the number of bicycle accidents. Unless the argument presents more specific data on all relevant numbers show the correlation between wearing helmets and accidents, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.