TV station should restore local coverage to increase ad revenue

A memorandum from a television station business manager identified the problem of declining advertising revenue and claims a causal relationship with the decline of time devoted to local news and weather on their late-night news program. The manager therefore purposes that restoring the time given to local news and weather will restore the advertising of local buisnesses and thus the stations revenue. This argument could be true but more evidence is needed to determine if the problem and fix are properly identified.

The first piece evidence needed is viewership numbers. The switch from local to national news may have attracted more viewers and thus the loss of local advertising would likely be due to another cause. However, if viewership has declined it may be possible to recapture viewers by going back to more local coverage and once again attracting buisnesses to advertise. Larger trends in viewership of local T.V. news should also be taken into account.

The manager claims the station has recieved the most complaints about the decline in local news and weather. This needs more context to determine if it is relevant to the argument. If the total number of complaints has dramatically decreased it would suggest that viewers are overall more pleased with the time allocation given to local vs. national coverage. Likewise if the station has been getting more positive feedback then normal it may suggest that this fact is irrelevant. However, if the number of total complaints have risen then this would be supportive of the managers claim and solution. If this complaints are coming from people to say why they will no longer be watching this would strongly support the managers position; but if they are coming from people who are continuing to view the content it may be less supportive of the claims.

Evidence about the local economy and businesses is also needed to evaluate the argument. A slump in the local economy, or a national retailor coming in that has closed local shops could explain the drop in advertising. Likewise if buisness have found spending their advertising dollars on social media, podcast or other media to be more effective changing the coverage of news may not bring back that ad revenue.

The argument as presented by the business manager can not be evluated. More evidence and context is need to determine if the problem has been correctly identified and if the purposed solution will work.