Society should give a sense of cooperation not competition to its youth

One of the main tasks of any society is to see to it that their youth are prepared for the demands of adult life. A society must ensure that it develops young people to be the leaders of government, industry and other fields. How to best accomplish this goal is often contested; whether instilling a sense of cooperation or competition is best. I contend that a healthy balance of cooperation and competition is needed in order to create leaders that will innovate, inspire, and improve society while ensuring everyone is taken care of.

Instilling a sense of competition in youth is important to aid in them in reaching their full potential however unchecked can create selfishness and lack of empathy. Healthy competition spurs people to continue striving to greater levels. Any teacher can tell you that a bright or talented student will often under perform when not challenged by their peers. Competition breeds innovation. Trying to out do someone else leads to new ideas and helps people challenge the status quo. Competition can also have a dark side it can lead to inflated egos and a narrow definition of success. Just instilling a sense of competion in young people can drive a me vs. others mentality. This can lead to a sense that only I can do this and the idea that others success diminishes ones own. Competition can also lead to defining success in narrow terms such as how much power or money one can a mass. People may start defining success in simple quantative terms and ignore measures such as happiness, well-being, or good being done in the world. While some sense of competition is important to push people to their best, most creative selves; this sense must be checked as to not spur greed and ego.

A sense of cooperation can ensure that people look out for one another, value others humanity and contributions but may not lead to the highest levels striving. Instilling a strong sense of cooperation is important to create kind, caring people. Teaching kids to work together will build important life skills in how to comprimise, see others points of view, and build products/society that inculude more people. A sense of cooperation will develop young people into leaders that ensure the world and buisnesses they build help everyone achive success and happiness. They will learn to look beyond their own experiences and value others which in turn can create more just societies. However, cooperation alone may not push people to maximize their own potential and create a sense of apathy.

A sense of competion paired with a high value of cooperation will push youth to each reach their own potential but value what others bring to the table. Together these values can push innovation and broad the scope of what society defines as success. Pairing these values will ensure that the leaders of tomorrow care about more than just themselves and the bottom line while also creating a society that takes care of and honors everyone.