more unmanned space flights should be used

A national aeronautics magazine recived a letter to the editor arguing that more resouces should be invested in unmanned space flight since they can gather useful information and manned space flights are more costly, and more dangerous. This argument relies on many assumumotions that must be consindered before determining if this argument has merit.

This letter to the editior claims that unmanned probes and satellites can gather lots of pertinante information. This is likely true. However, unstated in this is whether the same types of data can be gathered without putting humans into space. While it is likely that unmanned space exploration can give more information about deep space as probes can be sent distances untravelable by humans, manned space flight can give data about human physiology. Consideration for the data sets gathered in each type of space flight along with the goals for studying space need to be considered before altering the allocation of resources. If the purpose of learning about space is to garner knowledge about physics and the universe unmanned space flight is likely a better option. But if the goal is to learn about human physiology or looking at colonizing the moon data on humans in space is needed. The assumpution of this argument is that the data gathered is equally useful however it the differences in data and the purposes of space exploration must be looked at before assesing the argument.

Next examining the claim that it is less dangerous. It is seemingly obvious, at least in the short term, that not sending people into space largely reduces risk to the astorunates exiting and entering the atomsphere; the longer term consequenses are being assumed to be negligable in this argument. Sending more unmanned probes and satellites into orbit will cause more space debris. If allowed to accumulate in large enough quantities they can start to crash into one another, cause more hazards when manned space flight does occur, and increase the risk that the probes fall out of orbit and crash into earth possibly causing dangers for those who didn't choose to place themeselves in danger from space exploration. While the immediate danger may be mitigated with unmanned space travel this argument rest on the assumption that the risk will be stagnet in the long run.

Finally, looking at the cost argument. The author is not clear on what measures of cost are being considered. Likely the per launch cost of is lower for unmanned space travel as there is not the cost of salaries (astrounats, engineers for things required by those entering orbit, etc.) and the space crafts can be lighter and smaller as they don't have to accomidate people. It is unclear though that the cost for the information is the same. If ten unmanned space flights are required to get the same amount of information as one manned fight the cost measures may be miscalculated. The cost of adding debris into space which could damage other opperational probes and satellites should also be considered. Further, humans are not entirely rational economic beings. If not sending people to space cause a diminished interest in space the budgets could be cut leading to a decline in information that can be gathered.

This letter to the editior needs to be much more flushed out in order to determine if the argument should be adopted. It relies on assumputions that the same type of data can be collected, the short term dangers present in space flight, and the cost measures need more context.