Colleges should only hire if the person has relevant work experience

Colleges and universities are institutions that are designed to prepare their students for the demands of professional life, but they are also institutions designed to enrich knowledge, enstill a love of learning and inante curiousity that will serve students in their professional and personal lives. In order to best meet the first goal it may be wise to hire faculty that have cut their teeth in professions relevant to the courses they teach, however this may not best serve the second goal of learning for learnings sake. While universities should consider relevant work experience as part of what a potential faculty member brings to the table lack thereof should not prevent someone from getting the job.

Requiring all faculty members to work in related fields before entering academia could give them better insight to the demamds of those careers. Intimate knowledge of the fields can help them focus their cirriculum on the hard skills most utilized in the professional world as well as preparing students with soft skills they may need in a profession. For instance, a biology professor who worked as an immunologist may help pre-med students hone their knowledge of the immune system and give them an early insight to the interpersonal skills needed when communicating with paitents and how those may differ when speaking with other medical professionals. While professional experience may enhance classroom learning with real world scenerios, not all students in classroom will enter the same field. This could advantage some while disadvantaging others. Professors with experience may overlearn lessons in one area and disregard other important information. This fact should deter hiring of someone with professional experience but ensuring a faculty with diverse experience should be considered.

Among the possible consequences of only hiring those with professional experience is in the quality of teacher that might end up applying. Some of the best teachers are such because they whole heartedly love teaching. To them passing on knowledge is a calling, their passion for getting through to students drives them to work harder and ensure everyone learns. While having more experience and knowledge to pull from is never harmful. These applicants may have a harder time getting non-academic work since they aren't passionate about it, and they will have less time to develop teaching skills. As a dancer I have taken classes from prima ballerinas that can not teach since they may have never encountered some of the corrections that students need, while some of the teachers who have taught me the most have limited performing careers but have developed ways of explaining concepts in useful ways through teaching. Further requiring professional experience may attract people who were struggling to have career growth in their field. Someone who has plateued in a career may see entering academia as a way to move forward dispite having no desire to teach. It may also end up pulling only from low paying fields related to that course work.

A passion for learning is infectious. And learning just to learn is a good in and of itself. Require faculty to have real world experience can make them better teachers and more capable of preparing students for the demands of the professional world however experience in the field doesn't make a person qualified to teach. Require this could attract a lower quality teacher and deter those with a true passion for teaching.