Nationalized curriculum until college

An important role of any nation is to ensure the education of its populous. Each nation must determine the best way to prepare its citizens for the demands of adult life. Ideally, education will not only provide the foundation for students to become employable but ensure they become well rounded people. Some nations try to accomplish this by requiring students to study a national curriculum until college. While this plan has benefits, it also has some drawbacks. By understanding these a better plan to educate citizenary can be devised.

A national curriculum has the benefit of ensuring all students entering college have the same base of knowledge. This eases some of the pressure on professors by allowing them to assume certian level of knowledge within the class. It may also ensure a more equatiable system. Students from lower socio-economic backgrounds will have a more even playing field and may relieve some burden by entering college knowing their peers have had the same curriculum. A national curriculum, when well executed, can ensure that all students have basic understanding of all topics and have skills neccessary for being a competent adult (preparing taxes, cooking, personal finance etc.). The benefits of a nationalized curriculum up until college is that all students can be prepared to a base level for adult life and that students from less advantageous ciricumstances have more of an equal chance.

The drawbacks to a national curriculum come from forcing everyone into one box. While it is important to expose students to a wide variety of topics, a national curriculum will not be able to prepare everyone for the type of work they will end up doing. Not every student has the same natural talents or passions and a nation needs people with all sorts of skills. Some students excel in cognitive task, others manual, others creative. A national curriculum will not serve all of these students equally or if it does may not truly ready any of them for the demands of their future careers.

In my opinion, the best system would be one that starts as a national curriculum as students enter formalized schooling. This would allow all students to learn the necessary fundmentals. As students age more specialization is allowed so that students who shine in different areas can focus in and hone those skills. In this type of system all students can reach a certian base of knowledge but also have the freedom to discover and develop skills for their professions.