Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dr. Field and Dr. Karp carried out two independent studies of education process of children in Tertia. While the first researcher applied an observation-centered method, the latest used an interview-centered. Having received diverse information on the research topic, some anthropologists rely more on the interview-centered method for studying child-rearing process in Tertia. Although, to come to this conclusion anthropologists have to provide strong arguments to support it, while the passage does not provide any of them.

First of all, we cannot conclude that Dr. Field's approach was incorrect and Dr. Karp's is reliable, because it has been the span of twenty years between their researches. This period of time is sufficient for changes to be happened in the culture of Tertia. Twenty years ago Dr. Field could in fact observed trends and fads in the education of children that were actual for that moment, but then cultural changes had happened under some circumstances which lead to a new raising practice in Tertia.

Moreover, the reason why two researches obtained two different pictures of child-educating practices is in the scale of two studies. While Dr. Field was concentrated on the Tertia Island in particular, Dr. Karp interviewed several islands including Tertia. Thus, the latest researched gained more average data on the process of educating. He did not specify the Tertia’s children, thus, there is a possibility that the children brought up by adults in the village.

Also, it is unclear why Dr. Karp concluded that Dr. Field’s study is not accurate and whether his opinion laid in the basis of other anthropologists’ recommendation. There are not supportive arguments claiming that that or this study is unreliable. Perhaps, more information, statistics need to be presented to prove as Dr. Karp’s point of view as other anthropologists’. Until that moment their recommendation bears a subjective shade.

To sum up, based on the arguments presented in the essay, we cannot rely on the conclusion that Dr. Field approach and results were wrong, and that to study child-education process in Tertia it is better apply Dr. Karp’s method.