The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries claims that by monitoring internet use of employees on their workstations will improve productivity and overall profits. However on deeper analysis, there are certain important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

First of all, the vice president attempts to bridge a relationship between the fact that if employees would be monitored there will be a higher productivity. Of course, if employees are monitored the tendency to play video games is less but you can’t say that because of control internet use employees work harder. It may happen that employees are having more small talks, increase their toilet visit, are looking often out of the window or taking longer breaks if they don’t waste time by checking personal interest on the internet. It is proved that employees who experience a great trust of their boss work harder, in that case will internet control have the opposite effect.

Secondly, the author make an assumption to say that by control their employees on the internet use the profits will increase. Profits are related to much variable factors. It is to bluntly to relate internet use and profits directly to each other. If employees do not have the time to relax for a few minutes by checking their personal activities, they will work less hard for hours.

It is also not proven that employees at Climpson Industries use their workstations on personal or recreational activities. In this case control of activities will not lead to any improvement and give all the hard working employees a feeling of distrust. In addition, they may also get a feeling of not having any privacy at all.

To conclude, the writer of the article has drawn a dubious conclusion, it may be likely that employees work harder if they are controlled but the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The report must have presented more concrete evidence to substantiate the claim and make the argument more cogent.