We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The author assumes that the monarch books should copy the idea of regal books of opening a café as an addition to the service it provides primarily, i.e, books, so that it can attract more customers and as a competitive strategy. However, along with this assumption is the conjecture that patrons are agreeable to eat and read at the same time. As mentioned in the text, regal books just expanded the service of café, so we doesn’t know if it is successful or not to duplicate the same thing, and even if it is success in the regal books, Perhaps readers don’t want to try the same thing when in other ambience. Clearly, if the other place or store also gives the same vibes as one, people may not be willing to try monarch books. also, the location of these stores are not mentioned, there is a chance that regal books lies in some naturalistic environment, nearby the beach or fresh air and monarch books in midst of lively downtown, so it doesn’t make sense to drink a coffee enjoying a good read in a noisy surrounding.

Furthermore, monarch books is known for wide variety of books so that the selection gets diversified, so if the removal of children will harm its business rather than getting more visits. many parents would switch to some other store to buy books for their kids, also the children may not enjoy the rush of café for undivided attention to their reading materials. The researcher doesn’t give any statistics relating to the age groups who visits both the stores. For instance; the patrons of regal books are teenagers and youth during their 20’s and that of monarch books are children, elderly people or middle aged person like of 40’s. In that case, the business is definitely going to suffer loss not gain, as their demand and expectation from monarch is not coffee and d

The author must be cautious about children section getting little or no attention just due to the national census of declining children population because it mentions national census of children below 10 years not local population of that particular town. there may lie disparity as children population can be high or in increasing trend in that particular town although declining in the aggregate national population. Such thing exists in real life- Rhode Island is the smallest state in USA but the second largest in population density after the state of New Jersey. Without this calculation, the book shop can’t come to the conclusion of get rid of children section.

many factors still needs to be considered to open a café in monarch books that will add unnecessary stress of operating a books shop along with café. even if the same idea and operation could be best for regal books, it might not result the same for monarch books. some more details, brainstorming and research should be done.

onuts but goods books and wide variety to select from.