We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch,

having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years,

has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books

on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers.

Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book

section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent

national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the

population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more

customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its

own café.

The argument claims that “Monarch Books” should open a café in its stores just to attract more customers. Started in this way argument manipulates and conveys a distorted and ambiguous view of the situation. It also fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is not cogent and has several flaws.

Firstly, in the argument, the author avers that Monarch Books should open one café to attain the desired level of profit by attracting more and more customers. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. There are numerous examples in the field of business where business organizations attract more customers just by the quality of their products and customers are ready to buy products even with higher prices what contradicts the argument. For instance, when Apple Company started selling their I-Phone product it had literally higher price than the products of other companies, but, Apple made its own market and now has become the king of the kingdom. Apple Company never needed to use any other ways to attract customers rather they concentrated on the quality of their products. Undoubtedly it can be illustrated that the argument could have been much acceptable if it stated to improve the quality of the products and customer satisfaction.

Furthermore, the argument claims that opening one café will help Monarch Books to attract more customers and better compete with Regal books. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between Monarch Books and Regal books. The author never mentioned other measures of the situation when Regal Books opened the café. In fact, the argument does not even draw a parallel between the primary condition, location and situations of Monarch Books and Regal Books. If any Correlation would have been shown in the argument, it would supposedly work well, then, the author would have sounded a tad bit more convincing. In addition, if the author would have shown evidence to support that opening café helped other stores with the same situation with Monarch Books, to attract more customers, the argument could have been strengthened furthermore.

Finally, the author claimed to abolish children’s section just to have the space to open the café. From the statement, it is again not clear how Monarch Books can hold its reputation even after discontinuing children’s section. Here, the author claims students section is not any more famous to the population under the age of ten. It can be possible that Monarch Books fails to attain its quality and collection of books that’s why they faced this declination of the popularity of children’s section. Without a convincing explanation of these, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. As a result, this conclusion has no legs to stand on.

In summary, the argument may seem to be flawless in a cursory glance, but, in reality, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. In order to avail the merits of the situation, one must include all the information as it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. Without this information, this argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.