The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The way society has developed today, many people follow a general structure in their lives in order to be successful or rather contribute to the society. Although there are certain people who do believe that self knowledge can be acquired with the need of rejecting the familiar. I believe that one must reject the familiar in or to discover oneself.

Firstly, In today's day and time the society has built itself around few professions which are considered to be successful, which hold a special place in the "ladder of success". If one is a doctor, he would be considered a successful person but if one is a construction worker, he wouldn't be considered to be as successful as the doctor. Being an engineer has its perks in the society, great pay, big house, and in general a good life, but the society frowns when a child tries to pursue his passion for drawing," How will you support your family by doing this?" is said. In search of a better livelihood people have begun joining these professions without any general interest in it. You can see many examples where people first complete these stereotypical degrees and then find their true calling in some other field. We could consider the example of Chetan Bhagat, an Indian writer who completed his engineering and then got himself an MBA from one of the top universities in India but few years down the line found his true calling in writing. The dream of being successful, the pressure from the society to be a success, and the stereotype of only certain professions being the benchmark of success leads to people giving up on their dreams.

Furthermore, the journey of self knowledge cannot begin with the environment you are familiar with. You cannot be in a profession you hate and say that you are on a journey of discovering yourself. The pleasures of life that these professions provide us with, the comfort that it provides wouldn't allow one to sit back and think of whether what he is doing is what he always wanted to do? We see many people leaving their high paying jobs and going to spiritual places in order to find their true calling. One best and biggest example can be seen of Steve Jobs. He was studying arts in one of the biggest colleges in the world but never really knew what he wanted to do. He gave up everything he had in the US and made a journey to India. This abandoning of familiar allowed him to think about his priorities and what he really wanted to do, and we got Apple. One of the biggest companies in the world, which was brought to life on a journey of self discovery. Steve Jobs in multiple interviews, his auto biography and the recent biopic too, has stated the importance of this journey of discovery. The idea of using his talents as an artist to look develop beautiful looking computers rather than the grey boxes that existed back in the day was an idea that shook the world to its core.

Finally, we as individuals have built a bubble of protection for ourselves. One can't always say that it was society that didn't let someone pursue his/her dream. The dreaded term- self doubt is one of the major reasons why an individual does not pursue his or her dream. When a person doubts himself, he does not believe in the talent he possesses and rather settles for a mundane life. The question of 'What if?' always persists in his life. If he would have done some thing differently rather than being so unsure of his talent.

But does one really need to reject what is familiar in order to discover oneself. We could consider an example of a single mother on a train journey- J.K. Rowling. J.K. rowling was not the household name she today is rather she was having difficulties to meet ends and support her family. On one of her journey's in a train she came up with the idea of Harry Potter and the world of Hogwarts. There are multiple support groups that allow one to open up about themselves, but their efficiency is still debated.

Although there are certain points that do say that one would not have to leave the familiar in order to self discover. But the opposing views surpass this line of thinking. Hence, I do believe that one must reject the familiar in order to discover oneself.