Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

After shortly examining the case presented in the prompt, I believe this is quite a complicated topic, which requires more thorough tangible evidence to determine. The discovery of the basket in Lithos, does require the experts to re-evaluate the original argument of the Paleans owning the patent. However, they are far from being able to conclude the opposite of the original argument.

In the description, one assumption the experts have hold is that it was only through boats, could the Palean basket migrate to the other side of the river. However, could the fast current of the Brim, by any chance, be the mysterious deliverer of the basket from one side of the river bank to the other side? Furthermore, what if the Palean basket was not transported by the Palean boats but by the boats from Lithos? What is the basket was first sold to a nearby village that used boats to help the circulation of goods back then? Therefore, before we can confidently reach a conclusion whether these special woven baskets are not unique to the ancient Paleans, it is also necessary to prove that the basket could not be transported by any other means, like the Brim or the boats from other villages.

In addition, no Palean boats were found, and some archaeologists assumed that the lacking evidence of boats is indicating that ancient residents of Palea did not use them. I find this assumption a little too naive, because there may be other reasons why the boats could not be discovered, for example, it could be that these ancient transportation tools on the water failed to survive in the nature and just simply perished in history. Therefore, unless the experts can provide information excluding all other possible reasons why they were not able to find any boat relics, it is very presumptious to say the “woven baskets” is not uniquely Palean.

It seems “straightforward” to establish the idea that the baskets are no longer unique to the Paleans; more substantial proofs are indespensible to support it.