1. Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The statement is based on two claims. They are : culture is preserved in cities and monetary support is required for the preservation of culture. I strongly disagree with both of the claims. It is because, the cities are not where cultures are preserved, culture preservation is not the obligatory duty of government and financial support not necessarily preserve the culture.

Firstly, The Nations culture, tradition are mostly preserved in the village. Most of the village people are engaged in agriculture whereas , urban people are engaged in other economic activities like a business. The urban people have no time for preservation for culture. For example, in Nepal, there was a tradition of singing a folk song during puddling of rice every corner of the country, Now it is limited in village area only. Because most of the people are engaged in modern agriculture and profit basis activities in the city, they have no time for it. So , cultures are not present in a city but preserved in the village. Similarly, the traditional way of farming using bullock to puddle field is nowadays only present in the village area. In cities, the bullocks are replaced by heavy mechanics so does culture.

Secondly, preservation of culture is not the duty of government. An essential role of government is to provide food and security to the people. A country like Nepal, many people are still deprived of healthy food , many areas are still not linked to the main road and market system, the first priority will be development activities, not culture preservation. Furthermore, for the preservation of culture , the self-response requires not the forceful activities. Self-motivated people will preserve his/her culture more sincerely than the person who does a thing in compulsion.

Finally, financial support is not the solution for culture preservation . Just after the earthquake in Nepal 2015; a huge amount of economic support has been provided to rebuild the heritage but still the process is not satisfactory. Government perception about conservation of heritage through substantial economic support has been failed in Nepal.

Some might say that city has a diverse population and a number of people also high, thinking that, part of the population will support culture. However, city people are mostly concerned with their busy life, economic activities. Rather, preserving culture. Furthermore, corruption rate is also high in cities. In conclusion, the culture of the Nation is preserved in the village and it is not the role of government who preserves cultural.