20) Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

In this issue essay, author asserts some claim that Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. He further adds another claim contrary to the 1st stating that Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Both the claim seems to be partially relevant, but at last it depends upon the student who have to deal with it.

I do agree with the first claim made by the author. When students choose the field depending upon the talents and their interest they are likely to get deeply interacted with that particular subject. This will help students to enjoy learning the respective subject or topic and are less likely to get bored of it. Students having a bias attitude towards a particular subject tends to come up with a new innovative ideas which would help to lead progress in that respective filed. Students would enjoy their life and there are less chances of a student to get depressed because of not able to compete with the subject against his/her choice; thus often leads to suicide. In contrary, if the students is less interested or have hatred for a particular subject then there are chances that he/she will deal with it indifferently. For ex. In schools days not all of the students are interested in maths. Instead they just try to get pass in that subject, focusing their more attention on their subject of interest.

The 2nd claim made by author is based on the job opportunities. In general, most of the students end up their education with the main motive to secure a good salary job or to start a good successful business so that he can feed his family. If we go with the 2nd claim, it may help few students but not necessarily all of them will be benefited. If the students selects his field based on the available job opportunities , there are chances that some might not be able to complete the education because they may be incapable of grasping that particular subject. This may lead to elevate a number of drop out students every year. Which may also tend students to get attracted towards drug and crime ; thus ruining their carrier.

Hence it is more relevant that students must be given a freedom to choose their own field of interest to shape their future. Not all the student are successful by taking up a subject having a job opportunities. Thus if the student is resolute to do something than what so ever be the field of interest or not; that student is going to build up successful carrier.