2. First step of self-knowledge is rejection of familiar.

Above prompt asserts that the knowledge about self is originated by the rejection of the familiar. I mostly agree with this statement and presented few examples to express some negative and some positive opinion related to this assertion.

Self-awareness begins by the observation of one’s familiarity. People often take opinion of other to judge oneself. People ask family and friends number of question about themselves, while sometime they compare oneself with other to create a opinion about themselves. For example, a recent graduate student compares oneself with some famous and successful people and created negative opinion about themselves. Sometime he may compare himself with other unsuccessful people and create a false positive opinion about themselves. These opinion generated by comparing with other familiar people create a faux knowledge about himself. One can only get true knowledge about himself by studying his own past and present situations, other person’s unfamiliar life doesn’t matter. When person begins to look deep within himself then only they can develop a great self knowledge about themselves. One can take example of the great saints and sadhus, these people performed different deep meditation to acknowledge their familiar inner self. They taught us that information about oneself lie deep within us, it can be achieved only by giving full attention to the deeper self learning.

However, the think which are familiar often make a person complacent, he cannot grow unless he step out of the boundary of familiar environement. People who reject the comfort of familiarity and and adapt in the new unfamiliar surrounding. For example, mother Teresa decided to devote her entire life in serving the mankind by becoming a nun, which was not familiar during that period. But she adopted that unfamiliarity and devoted herself in serving. She learned the true meaning of her life by rejecting the familiarity and accepting unfamiliar trend. Likewise, Florence nightingale who is known as the lady with the lamp, accepted unfamiliar profession like nursing at that time to serve the sick people. She founded her identity as a nurse by accepting this unfamiliar profession. Hence, a person found his identity and knowledge by coming out of the familiar surrounding and embracing the unfamiliarity.

Moreover, greatest inventions and discoveries are done by the scientist are the outcome of the strong will to learn and explore new ideas. We can take example of newton law of motion, if newton believed that the apple fall was mainly nature’s law then the greatest newton’s law of gravitational force will not have discovered. His will and interest to learn new concepts and explore innovative discovery led to the rejection of old familiar concept. It is possible that if newton has not rejected the familiar concept and went with its flow, discovery of greatest invention would happen. Also, when a student leave the familiar surrounding of his birth country and move in unfamiliar ground, then only he learned his true inner power, strength and quality. This shows that until and unless a person leaves familiar ground, new self discoveries are difficult to comprehend.