36 / 72. Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Science is inseparable part of human history. Science has always come up with new invention to satisfy human desire. Nowadays, technologies are essential parameters which estimate the development and power of any country. Countries with most advanced scientific achievement are considered as developed and powerful nations. On the contrary, technologies sometimes yield most unwanted outcomes despite the tremendous amount of resources invested. In this sense, science and technology are not independent from political and military contexts. Considering the benefits and side-effects of science, the government should invest resources to promising areas of research and screen the possible consequences.

Myriad of cases support the idea that technologies can achieve a great work when they are combined with political and military with a profound consideration of their consequences. Remarkable development of telecommunications and space science technologies during the Second World War could be possible because of the intense investment which was based on desperate needs. At that time, governments cautiously chose the deserving research areas and supported them.

Many of the current technologies people daily use are also invented with certain purposes, even though the technologies have been applied to the areas which were not originally intended for. For example, the computer science including the Internet had long been developed by military funding. With the combination of financial support and human resources based on national interest, now once the technologies which were accessible only to military became the most widely used tool in people’s lives.

The applications deviated from the original technologies are not easy to predict. As the inventor of dynamite Alfred Nobel had never fully foreseen the military use of his invention, the result of technologies today is not surely predictable. Science and technologies bear the possibility of misuse and can even be the causes of millions of people’s deaths as atomic bombs did. Therefore, governments are required to support the research areas with dedicated consideration of the possible outcomes and their applications not to harm humanity.

Recapitulating all the respects, the governments should consider both positive and negative outcomes of technologies for the security of people. Thus, the governmental funding should be distributed carefully by firmly established standards.