An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Doctors are considered to be the terrestrial GOD. They are more often viewed as the selvationers rather than neglacted professionals. Ubiquitiously, Doctors are viewed as the healers of the disease and an cure for all health problems. This is because of the noble work they do in their daily life saving people from the death, doing risky operations etc and which have also given him the reputed image in the society. But, we should not forget that doctors are also professionals practitioners. Like all other professionals doctor also have their own rulse, regulations and policies in their business, which are needed to be followed by all the doctors.

One of such policies can be brought in front in the current context, the policy about disclosing the treatment record of a doctor to his or her prospective patient. Generally the thumb rule says that doctor can not reveal any information about the patient details whether it be his or her personal details or be the treatment method. This is a candid policy that everyone can understand without indulging into any rocket science. There are some must follow guidelines for the doctors like, A doctor can't give some types of medicines without the prescription of some another doctor. These policies are created by some judicial organisation very carefully and favourably.

Second thing is that even if the ailing patient is allowed to do so it would not make much sense when to decide whether the doctor can treat him or her better on the basis of the past records. For example, not every Asthma patient will be cured by the same method. There are different conditions and situations for every patients and it is the job of the doctor to decide which treatment to use or which medicines to prescribe. Also, there are various factor such as age, diagonostic test results, symptomtes and their degree of activeness. Therefore each of the patient will be treated individually and in a unique way even if the problem and the doctor remains the same. This makes a very strong and clear reason why the ailing patients should not rely on the previous reports of the doctors when it comes to get treated.

Finally, there could be some ways in which a doctor's expertness can be identified such as number of his successfull operations, it's not at all recommended to rely on just the past reports and make the decision on that basis.