An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

In this statement, author is discussing about how to choose particular doctor for particular diseases. Author is stating that patient should have easy access to doctor's record of treating with similarly affected patients. Due to this patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition. I agree to the author for this statement.

A choosing of specialist doctor is wish of every patient. Every patient have wish in his/her mind that life of his/her is given in qualified and expert doctor of kind of diseases. In most cases, patient will ask to his friends/family/neighbor that which doctor is best suited for particular diseases? For this reason, author is trying to convince that ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients.

Author is right because, this will ensures doctor's experience about diseases which patient is having. For a case consider that there is one doctor which is mainly specialist of heart related diseases. But if suppose doctor is very much greedy and he/she start to give medicine to fever or cold, then it will be very bad situation for patient.

From above case, mostly everyone will agree about having access to doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. I think, there should be one portal, operated by government. In this portal, information about every certified doctors should be listed. This information may contain specialization, degree, experience for particular diseases, area in which he/she accessible, patient's reviews, attitude of solving diseases, relation with patient, etc. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Above process will really helpful for determining best doctor for particular diseases. There might be problem for newly joined doctor that some patient will not choose that doctor due to his/her lack of experience, but surely doctor will be able to treat that medical condition because he is certified for that diseases.

At the end, i can conclude that it is nice idea to gaining access of doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients for determining whether doctor is competent or not?