Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these

Moral Judgement is an essential pillar, upon which the entire leadership rests. Moral Judgement by defination mean to give a wise and prudent judgment for any case by being impartial to any arcane advantages a leader may receive. I mostly disagree with the context that, sound moral judgment is not as important as a leader's ability to maintain the respect of their peers. No doubt, respecting peer leader is vital but not as essential as making sound and correct judgment, as correct and moral judgment is most important aspect of any leader.

Many people may have general belief that, a leader should have a quality to maintain the respect of his or her peers, which is true provided, leader must listen to the ideas and thoughts of their peers. In any community, it is important that a leader give all his/her peers a chance, to listen to their ideas and respect their beliefs. For instance, if we take any political party, there is one main leader, but that does not mean that he/she have full supermecy to take any decision or neither they should have any right to insult their peers. Leadership is not dictatorship, true essence of leadership lies in cooperation, maintaining decorum and utimately taking right, sound moral decision for any case.

Though it is important to respect the peers, in my opinion, it is more important to make right judgment. The organization can comprise of different types of people, many are corrupt and think of their own advantages, if leader will keep on listening to such peers and acknowledging their ideas, then will be impossible for any leader to make right sound moral decision. For instance, if we again consider any political party, there is slight chance that all the members of the party think alike, some will be prudent, some will be arrogant, some will be corrupt but at the end a leader has to make a moral judgement, irrespective of the fact that their judgement make be considered offensive to some of his/her peers. This is in fact one of the important quality of leadership to identify prudent people within their group.

Respecting the peers should not ne confused with favouring them in every circumstances. On the other hand, it does not mean disrespecting them. Conducting a proper method while taking any judgement is important. There can be certain parameters upon which a judgement can be measured and made. Moral judgement should look for welfare of majority of population, at the same time maintaining integrity of the system. Casting votes to pass the bill, like the one we are familiar with in parliaments, are right and wise method of conducting any judgement. This also gives sense of importance and accountability within all the member of the organization, and not just the leader.

In a nutshell, people may have general opinion that leaders must respect their peers and this very quality is most important, but in my opinion, it is generally more importance that the leader utimately provides with moral judgement because that is what is expected most out of a leader. Their judgement reflect their work and trust. Respecting peers should not be mingled with right moral and ethical judgement, causing welfare of the society.