Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Yes, it is important to have good moral judgment in your life, but all alone this quality will not be enough. Especially when you want yourself to be seen as a successful leader.

A successful leader is not just one with high moral judgments, but it is one who hears what his peers have to say, what they can bring to the table when it's open for discussions. Do they feel hesitant while approaching him, are his relations with them cordial and respectful, or do they fear that they will be judged on moral high grounds?

It is vital for a person that in order to be a perfect leader he needs to acknowledge one critical factor and that is, is respected by his peers? Because it is known that when a leader is too judgmental or loses his calm easily, he loses his respect from his peers. Peers start feeling reluctant against such a leader.

The leader should understand that it's his colleagues and his team that would be there in his difficult times not only when he is at work, but also as a helping hand in his personal life and this can only happen if he is a great leader and he can help his team achieve their true potential and maximum output. They are the ones who help a leader through the time when the project needs to be fully filled on time which has critical deadlines.

As it comes as an example from our practical life, we all have our peers from work who are now an important part of our life. They have their role in good and bad moments in our life. If a leader takes the moral high ground and starts to judge his peers he will lose them and also lose a crucial part of his life. A leader should understand that how he treats his peers also have an impact on his peers both emotionally and mentally and it further impacts their personal life. After a bad day at work, no one can go to a home with high spirits and that not a way in which one would expect to reach home.

But only if we look at this, from a leader's personal perspective. He might consider being morally judgmental as an important factor because when it comes to professionalism both lives should not mix and his personal relations with his peers should not be a barrier in his decision making professionally. He has to take decisions and make choices taking into consideration the position he represents and from this point, this mindset can be considered valid. This is why it is commonly that it is always lonely at the top because as you grow forward you leave your peers behind.

To sum up it can be said that a balance in professional and personal life is important, especially when you are a leader and your people look forward to you. You would want their support and expect that they take a stand for you not just because you are superior; but because they care.